Pumerantz Library Research Guides
Research Assistance, Subject Guides, & Useful Resources
Contact@Reference
Where to Start
A good place to start searching for articles is the Pumerantz Library Discovery Service, located on the library's homepage. This searches multiple databases and our online catalog.
For a demonstration on how to search the discovery service, please view our tutorial.
For more specific searches you can move to an individual database. Some good ones for nursing are:
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides access to current health journals and publications for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers. tutorial
This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases that help inform healthcare decision-making, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed. - Nursing@Ovid This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing@Ovid is a comprehensive, integrated nursing & allied health portal for practice, education, research, and administration.
For tutorials on how to use the individual databases, please visit our Tutorials LibGuide.
List of eJournals
Identifying Parts of a Medical Scholarly Article
Peer-Reviewed
Most professors prefer that students use peer-reviewed, or refereed, journals when doing clinical research. Peer-review is a process by which a panel of experts must approve an article submission before it is published.
The term "scholarly" is sometimes used synonymously with peer-reviewed. A scholarly journal is one that is written by experts in a specific field. They usually contain original research and extensive bibliographies. Most scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed, however that should always be verified.
While certain databases will let you limit a search to only retrieve peer-reviewed articles, in most cases you will have to check for yourself. To determine if a journal is peer-reviewed, you have a few options.
- Refer to the editorial statement or the instructions for authors in the hard copy of a journal. This would be located at the beginning or the end of a journal.
- The journal's website should also have the peer-reviewed information. This would typically be located in a section that describes the journal, for example the "about us" or "information" page, or on the instructions for authors page.
Here is a list of all the databases we have that can limit to peer-reviewed:
Limits in CINAHL
You can use limits in the CINAHL database to find articles written by a nurse, or that are peer-reviewed, or that are written within a certain number of years.
For a demonstration on how to search CINAHL and PubMed, please view our tutorial.
PubMed Filters
For a demonstration on how to search CINAHL and PubMed, please view our tutorial.
You can use filters in PubMed to limit to Nursing Journals. The filters are located on the left of the article results page.
Click on the "Additional Filters" button near the bottom of the filters.
Select "Journal", then click the checkbox for "Nursing Journals".
