There are two different places your work can be stored and shared. CONTENTdm is our in-house repository for all electronic content and is openly accessible online. ProQuest's Electronic Thesis & Dissertation (ETD) is a subscription-based database for theses and dissertations only. If you submit to ProQuest, your work will also be added to CONTENTdm, but not vice versa.
As an MSBS student, you can choose which submission option you prefer.
Why choose ProQuest?
ProQuest's Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) database contains works from over 700 academic institutions. Choose ProQuest if:
Why choose CONTENTdm?
The library's repository (CONTENTdm) contains copies of WesternU theses, dissertations, and special projects. The collection is currently only available to the WesternU community, but we plan to eventually open it to everyone. CONTENTdm also makes your work downloadable.
As an author, you retain copyright of your work. This means you have the right to:
WesternU does not require you to transfer your copyright to us, but does ask you to grant us a non-exclusive right to archive your work and make it accessible to others. (Non-exclusive means that you can also grant this right to others. For example, you could post your work on a personal website or in a repository dedicated to your type of research.) We currently use CONTENTdm for this purpose, which is currently accessible to everyone at WesternU. We eventually plan to make this collection fully searchable on the open internet and accessible to everyone, but when we do, you will have a choice whether to make your work accessible to everyone or only the WesternU community.
If you need or wish to delay public viewing of your work, you can request an embargo for between one and three years.
What is an embargo?
An embargo is a delay in the release of the full text. If you choose an embargo, only the abstract will be searchable and viewable.
Why might I want an embargo?
How long of an embargo period can I choose?
Ready to submit? For your convenience, use the submission checklist below to make sure everything is complete.
Since your thesis will be accessible online, please make sure that you do not include any personally identifiable information (such as signatures, date or city of birth, email address, etc.) about your or anyone else in your vita or appendices.
If you are submitting a dissertation or thesis via ProQuest, you will be asked to accept the WesternU Publishing Agreement at that time. Your work will then be added to CONTENTdm.
Before submitting, you will need to fill out the WesternU Publishing Agreement. Please click here to download a copy.
The library will need:
The library no longer requires a bound copy of your thesis. If you would like a bound copy for personal use, here are some options: