Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic Resources Troubleshooting: Troubleshooting Vocabulary

Troubleshooting Vocabulary

Aggregator- vendor who supplies journal content from multiple publishers. Ex.- EBSCO

Clearing the cache and cookies- clears out browser history.  If a patron is having problems with accessing or displaying a website, this is one of the first things to try. 

EDS (EBSCO Discovery Service)- platform that searches a wide range of content, including: 

  • Online catalog (Sirsi) 
  • AHFS Consumer Medical Information 
  • ClinicalTrials.gov 
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 
  • Directory of Open Access Journals 
  • EBSCO databases (including DynaMed) 
  • ERIC 
  • Medline 
  • Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations 
  • Psycinfo 
  • Psychiatry Online 
  • Science Citation Index 
  • ScienceDirect 
  • Web of Science
  • WesternU Archives Digital Collections (CONTENTdm) 

Full-Text Locator (AKA link resolver)- Links to full text (if available) or to a page where user can submit an ILL request.  Appears on all of our EBSCO databases, Embase, Ovid, PubMed, and Web of Science. Uses this link: 

Should cover all that we have access to, but since vendors add and remove titles and change access dates without notice, it won’t be 100% accurate.   

Knowledge Base- a database that collects, organizes, and stores information.

We use EBSCO's Holdings Management knowledge base to manage our e-journal holdings.

LDAP (Lightweight Directory Access Protocol)- “an open, vendor-neutral, industry standard application protocol for accessing and maintaining distributed directory information services over an Internet Protocol (IP) network.” (source- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lightweight_Directory_Access_Protocol)  

Technical support uses this to store usernames and passwords.  They also put users in groups by class or faculty.  We connect to this via the proxy server to validate users.  Users (except clinical faculty, OPTI-West, and UHS residents) have to be in an active group in order for them to use our e-resources remotely. 

Permalinks- links without a session ID that go directly to the article/resource. They also need the proxy prefix to work off-campus. 

Proxy logs- lists the usernames and IP addresses of users accessing (or trying to access) our e-resources.

Proxy prefix- https://proxy.westernu.edu/login?url=

Proxy server- system that lets authorized users access resources from other servers.  We use EZproxy from OCLC.  This allows our students, faculty, and staff access to our subscribed electronic resources from off campus.

Publisher- provides content to their own published content. Ex.- Elsevier (ScienceDirect), McGraw-Hill (AccessMedicine, AccessPharmacy, McGraw-Hill eBook Library, PA Exam Prep), Ovid/Wolters Kluwer (Books@Ovid, Nursing@Ovid, UpToDate, LexiComp, LWW Health Library, Visible Body), Springer (SpringerLink).

Session ID- link that only works for a limited amount of time.  URL is usually long and says “session” or “SID” somewhere in it.