Pumerantz Library Research Guides
Research Assistance, Subject Guides, & Useful Resources
Clinical Faculty Resources: Journals and Databases
- This guide explains the resources and services available to clinical faculty and preceptors.
Contact@Reference
Research Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s search service that provides access to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. tutorial
This link opens in a new window
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase provides access to articles in biomedical and pharmacological literature. Users can also search Embase records by building a search strategy that uses PICO elements. tutorial
- This link opens in a new window
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides access to journals and books on a wide array of scientific topics, including biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, chemistry, clinical medicine, engineering, and veterinary medicine. Topics pages provide an overview of new terms and concepts, with links to relevant literature. tutorial
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to thousands of journals covering disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. You can use Web of Science to link to an article’s references and see how many times the article has been cited. tutorial
- This link opens in a new window
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides access to current health journals and publications for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators, and researchers. tutorial
- This link opens in a new window
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window Academic Search Elite provides access to scholarly literature with a focus on education. Medical sciences and physics are also included, as well as images and videos.
- This link opens in a new window
- ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC is a free database that gives access to educational research in the form of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, and more. Records are peer-reviewed and may include links to full-text articles. tutorial
- This link opens in a new window
Find E-journals
Want to know if we have a specific journal? Start here!
*Note: Clinical faculty do NOT have access to the following journals: Science, Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Clinical Microbiology Reviews, Infection and Immunity, or Journal of Virology.
Getting Full Text of Articles
You've found an article you like. Now how do you get the full text?
First, you need to sign up for an ILLiad account. You can do that here. (Note: You do not have an ID number, so you can just enter 000000000.)
If you found the article through one of our databases or electronic journals, you can look for the Pumerantz Library Full Text Locator icon.
- Click on the icon to see if we have the article in full text.
- If we do, great! You're done.
- If not, you can click the Article Locator's "Send your request using ILLiad" link to request the article through interlibrary loan.
If you got the citation from somewhere else, you can use the "Find Articles" box below to search for the article's title.
Find Articles
You can use this box to find a specific article or to search across several of our databases for articles on a specific topic.