Pumerantz Library Research Guides
Research Assistance, Subject Guides, & Useful Resources
URL: https://westernu.libguides.com/writing-for-publication
Writing for Publication: Research Design
- This guide provides resources on research design, writing a manuscript, and choosing where to publish.
Contact@Reference
Books on Research Methods
Introduction to Research by Call Number: W 20.5 D422i 2011ISBN: 9780323068543Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Research Design by Call Number: W 20.5 C747r 2014ISBN: 9781452226095Publication Date: 2013-03-22
Research Methods by Call Number: W 20.5 T843e 2016ISBN: 9781133954774Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Introduction to Health Research Methods by Call Number: W 20.5 J15i 2017ISBN: 9781284094381Publication Date: 2016-08-12
Foundations of Clinical Research by Call Number: W 20.5 P853f 2015ISBN: 9780803646575Publication Date: 2015-03-18
How to Do Primary Care Research by Call Number: W 20.5 H847 2019ISBN: 1138499587Publication Date: 2018-08-20
Introduction to Epidemiologic Research Methods in Public Health Practice by ISBN: 9781449627843Publication Date: 2012-08-07
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by ISBN: 9781284153774Publication Date: 2019-03-25
Finding Relevant Literature
In order to put your study in context, you need to do a literature search to find out what research has (and hasn't) been done in your area. Check out the books below or come see a librarian for information about literature searches.
You can find articles on your topic using our research databases. Need help getting started? Explore a tutorial or contact a librarian!
The Literature Review by Call Number: LB 1047.3 M33 2012ISBN: 9781452240886Publication Date: 2012-06-08
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by Call Number: WZ 345 G238h 2014ISBN: 9781284029987Publication Date: 2013-06-02
Succeeding in Literature Reviews and Research Project Plans for Nursing Students by Call Number: WY 20.5 W555s 2014ISBN: 144628283XPublication Date: 2014-07-29
Grant Funding
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals, Fifth Edition by
Following in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow, step-wise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education and practice initiatives. Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to assure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows. New to the Fifth Edition: Spotlights important new trends that can make or break grant success Features Professional Spotlights reflecting the experiences and advice from successful grant writers - from novice to expert Highlights special considerations for pre-doctoral students and post-doctoral fellows Examines how to write an effective grant application for specific types of study designs Explains how to craft compelling statements about significance and innovation Provides guidelines on mentorship Covers ways to manage post-award activities and offers strategies and templates for documenting grant progress Key Features: Key summary points in every chapter Case examples throughout Strategies for managing a grant writing team and post-award activities Considerations in building a grant writing career and matching your level of experience to funding mechanisms Testimonies from novices and experts describing their unique grant writing experiences
ISBN: 9780826148032Publication Date: 2020-05-28
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal by
Authors William Gerin, Christine Kapelewski, and Niki L. Page are here to help you secure NIH funding for your research! Writing the NIH Grant Proposal, Third Edition offers hands-on advice that simplifies, demystifies, and takes the fear out of writing a federal grant application. Acting as a virtual mentor, this book provides systematic guidance for every step of the NIH application process, including the administrative details, developing and managing collaborative relationships, budgeting, and building a research team. Helpful hints along the way provide tips from researchers who have received grants themselves. New to this Edition: Much more user-friendly in response to the updated NIH website Covers the new Application Submission System & Interface for Submission Tracking (ASSIST) online submission form for both single and multiple projects Revamped advice on substantive sections of the proposal to address lowered page allowance Coverage of the new scoring system and reviewer reporting system Coverage of the usage and submission of the new SF 424 forms
Call Number: W 20.5 G355w 2018ISBN: 9781506357737Publication Date: 2017-11-09
How to Write a Competitive R01 Grant by
This book describes the process of completing an NIH R01 grant application. It begins with the formation of an idea and proceeds through the subsequent stages: verifying the idea's strength and potential, collecting high-quality preliminary data, networking for feedback, writing the first and subsequent drafts of the application (including details on what to include and tips on content and tone), polishing the application, and following through after the decision is announced (appropriate responses to success or rejection). Each main stage is broken down into conversational paragraphs and bullet points for easy reference. This easy-to-navigate book focuses on concise details and strong headings and subheadings making the content clear and easy to retain. It serves as a valuable reference source throughout the grant writing process and offers a practical outline of action.
Call Number: HG 177 D528 2016ISBN: 9783319413594Publication Date: 2016-08-08
Winning Grants by
In the highly competitive arena of grantseeking, fundraisers need resources in order to win grants and fulfill their organization's mission. This new, thoroughly updated edition of the bestseller offers a guide that any organization can use to secure funding from private foundations or the government. Filled with updated examples, this guide directs the novice grantseeker and offers a refresher course for experienced grantwriters. Following the process presented will improve anyone's ability to transform an idea that needs support into a proposal that demands funding. As part of the new Jossey-Bass Nonprofit Guidebook Series, Winning Grants has sold over 75,000 copies in its first two editions and has established itself as a leader in the grantseeking market. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
Call Number: HG 177 C374 2008ISBN: 9780470286371Publication Date: 2008-10-13
Proposals That Work by
Previous editions of this book have helped well over 100,000 students and professionals write effective proposals for dissertations and grants. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, Proposals That Work offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Ináthe fifth edition, the authors haveáincluded a discussion of the effects of new technologies and the Internet on the proposal process, with URLs listed where appropriate. In addition, there are new sections covering alternative forms of proposals and dissertations and the role of academic rigor in research. As always, the authors have included a number of specimen proposals, two that are completely new to this edition, to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. Clear, straightforward, and reader friendly, Proposals That Work is a must own for anyone considering writing a proposal for a thesis, a dissertation, or a grant.
Call Number: W 20.5 L814p 2014ISBN: 9781452216850Publication Date: 2013-04-18
Proven Strategies Professionals Use to Make Their Proposals Work by Call Number: HG 177 W45 2005ISBN: 0876781172Publication Date: 2005-03-01
IRB Approval
Save time and make sure your research has been approved by the Institutional Review Board (IRB) before you start. Learn more about the IRB process (including whether your research requires IRB approval and what level of review is appropriate).
IACUC Approval
Using animals in your research? Make sure you are following the policies and procedures listed by the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC).